Dutch is the national language of the Netherlands and one of the national languages of Belgium. In the Caribbean, Dutch is the official language of Aruba, Suriname, and the Netherlands Antilles. Modern-day Indonesia was once a Dutch colony, and the Dutch language is also crucial to much scholarship concerning that country, including its history, cultural and religious history, and legal system.